INFIDEL!!!! Death to Ayaan Hirsi Ali!


I just got done reading “Infidel” by Ayaan Hirsi Ali.

This is the Autobiography of a woman who has climbed up thru a well of Darkness and bathed herself with the sweet rays of sunshine and Freedom.

Her story is fascinating, horrifying, depressing, educational and most definitely..worthy of a read. There were parts in her book that made me cry, other’s where it was hard to keep reading. I couldn’t put it down.

The very very very short version:

Ms. Hirsi Ali was born in 1969 in Mogadishu–into, as she puts it, “the Islamic civilization, as far as you can call it a civilization.” In 1992, at age 22, her family gave her hand to a distant relative; had the marriage ensued, she says, it would have been “an arranged rape.” But as she was shipped to the appointment via Europe, she fled, obtaining asylum in Holland. There, “through observation, through experience, through reading,” she acquainted herself with a different world. “The culture that I came to and I live in now is not perfect,” Ms. Hirsi Ali says. “But this culture, the West, the product of the Enlightenment, is the best humanity has ever achieved.”

 (You can read the rest of the article here)

She is heavily guarded due to her statements about the Islamic Religion and specifically her remarks about the prophet being a tyrant and pervert. 

“Radical” (though she believes there is nothing “radical” about them) Islamists want her head on a plate. It all started when Theo Van Gogh helped her film the Documentary “Submission” which  “investigated passages from the Quran that Ms. Hirsi Ali contends authorize violence against women, and did so by projecting those passages onto naked female bodies.

Theo Van Gogh was murdered two months later. Shot more than once, his neck sliced and a letter stabbed to his chest written to Ayaan. A Warning. She’s been surrounded by security ever since.

 In retrospect, she deeply regrets the outcome: “I don’t think the film was worth the human life.”

She resides in the U.S. now, working for a Neo-Conservative think-tank in D.C.

Bill Steigerwald, via Human Events.com did a great interview with Ms. Ali.

A Piece:

Steigerwald: What is the significance of the title “Infidel”?

Ali:That as someone who was born into Islam and brought up with Islam, every call for for change meets with the accusation “You are an infidel.” After the 11th of September, Western leaders started to persuade Muslims all over the world to stand up and say, “This is not done in my religion.” I started to download what bin Laden had said. Pretty much the message of bin Laden is that every Muslim should stand up and fight the enemies of Islam. I started to download his speeches and he quotes abundantly from the Koran and the Hadith (written traditions of the Prophet Muhammad). Bin Laden’s message is consistent. What he says, is in the Koran. What he says that the prophet did, it is true the prophet did. My reaction to that was, let’s not turn away from that but let’s acknowledge that our religion has very violent principles and by acknowledging those deviances, we can correct it. And that’s when I was met with the accusation “You’ve become an infidel.” Then in Holland, I started to point out the position of Muslim women in Holland and in Muslim countries. I said it is inferior and that inferiority and the violence against women and the subjugation against them is justified in the name of Islam. I said “Let’s acknowledge that this deformity is within the religion and reform it.” And the answer to that was always, “Oh, but you are an infidel if you say that.” I said “Let’s correct what the prophet Muhammad said” — “No. The prophet was perfect, he was infallible. You don’t correct what he said. If you do that you are an infidel.”

I did a little digging myself into the Qu’ran.

I only read Chapter Four, An-nisa (Women). Because it caught my eye. There are 176 Verses.

I decided to write down all the verses I questioned, found a bit scary or Cruel.

I decided to do this after reading the first 33 verses.

004.034, 004.037-038, 004.044-046, 004.050-051, 004.056-058, 004.069, 004.074-076, 004.079, 004.084, 004.089-092, 004.094, 004.101-102, 004.105, 004.116-117, 004.125, 004.128-129, 004.139-140, 004.144, 004.168-169, 004.171.

Don’t read too much into this…I claim only interest in what Islam really means and these are things that caught my eye. This is obviously a very small portion of the Qu’ran. But I think like many of us, I just want to understand Why?

Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s book is an eye opener.

I would normally say…every woman should read it. But that doesn’t make much sense. Our Western life is so drastically different from what this woman went through. Trying to appreciate life more after reading this book is difficult.

If anything, this book has me asking more questions. Good questions and I  have to wonder how right she really is. I’m leaning with her.

Judge for yourself. $15.60.

4 Comments

  1. What she has accomplished is really amazing. Reminds me of the story of Waris Dirie a lot. The only difference is, Ayaan Hirshi Ali has turned into a fundamentalist herself when it comes to the way she talks about muslims. Even though she is obviously a very strong and smart woman, in my opinion she’s preaching a message of hate, and hate can never be constructive. All Muslims simply can’t be evil. There are off course many wrongdoings in the Muslim world, but there are many all over the world in a wide variety.

    I find it a pitty that she isn’t preaching a message of love.

  2. dwerf- If you havent read the book, I highly encourage you too. You may then have a better understanding of why she stands for the things she does.

    It’s interesting and I guarantee it will make you think about her stance. I’m not saying I completely agree…but..I did say “leaning” 🙂

  3. […] just finished reading Infidel – Ayaan’s autobiography – and highly recommends it. I read it months ago already and I agree: this book should be read by all interested in the […]

  4. […] wrote of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s book, Infidel here; Dr. Sanity’s post reminds me of the book. So maybe it would be educational to read […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

