Missing Soldiers, Subconscious Mourning


This morning I was watching Fox & Friends on Fox News  and they were interviewing Debbie Anzack, Aunt of PFC Joseph Anzack who is one of  three soldiers feared captured by Al-Qaida 5 days ago.

As I watched Debbie talk of her Nephew, how lovable and handsome, kind and gentle; tears forming in her eyes; it occurred to me how she was talking of him. I’m sure she didn’t  realize, but she kept using the word “was” not “is”.

Past Tense.

In a situation such as this, I imagine it’s a comfort system that kicks in, and we have no control. It’s much easier to imagine they aren’t suffering anymore then to imagine the possibilities of what these young American men are going through.

I was neither offended or shocked by her choice of words because again, I’m quite positive she didn’t realize she was using them.

An update on their search here.

I can’t imagine what the families are going through but they are in my thoughts…and I hope yours as well.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

