Suppressing Nature


Today I read, via FoxNews.com, that the FDA is set to approve a new Birth Control Pill designed to end those pesky Periods.

Did you just feel the earth shake? That’s because a few million women just jumped for joy.

The New Birth Control Pill is called Lybrel. Which apparently, according to the article is “Meant to evoke Liberty”.

Most pills are designed to mimic our cycle. 21 days of little yellow pills, 7 days of sugary blue pills. Now we can say goodbye to sugar.

I recently, about 4 months ago, decided to try Birth Control again.

I have tried it on and off for the last 11 years. My past experiences have been nothing but trouble. I experience heightened PMS symptoms, mostly emotional. And I mean to the point of losing my mind. I literally feel nuts. When it occurs to me that it might have something to do with the pills, I stop taking them and a day later, I’m normal.

I’ve tried them all…well almost! Ortho Cyclen, Ortho Tri-Cyclen, Lo/Ovral and now Nor-qd.

The Nor-qd was prescribed to me after a Doctor finally sat down and asked me why I didn’t want anything with Estrogen. I was planning on getting an IUD. He talked me out of it and told me to try the pills first. This pill has no Estrogen, just Progestin.

Though reluctant, I found after taking them for a week, I had no freaky PMS breakdowns and actually felt pretty good. Unfortunately, I haven’t had a normal cycle since. Breakthrough bleeding, I’ve had normal periods but continuous spotting that has lasted up to 17 days..this has happened to me twice. I’m now on my 5th pack and plan on calling the Doctor soon to switch to something else. Because this is just ridiculous.

So, what about the new pill? Well..they say the same thing might happen. In the study, 59& of women had no bleeding after 6 months. 18% dropped out do to spotting and breakthrough bleeding.

So the question is…is it worth it? Is it Natural to suppress your period?

I don’t’ think so. In fact, I think it takes away part of who we are. I remember the day I got my first period. I was 16 years old. Much older then most but I’m assuming that is because I was a ballet dancer for a number of years. Nevertheless, when it came, I felt like I had arrived, finally, to that woman’s club I’d been trying to join for a couple of years. No longer was I child but a Woman…or at-least in the makings of.

So excited to get it, I found that feeling disappeared pretty fast. Cramping, long periods, my cycle was off. 28 day cycle? Not me, like every two weeks, sometimes it straightened itself out, sometimes not.

This was the whole reason I wanted Birth Control, straighten out my cycle and reduce bleeding from 8 or 9 days to hopefully, 5-7 days.

I can handle 5 days, I can handle 7 days. No days? Well it might be nice and…according to the article :

Most doctors say there’s no medical reason women need monthly bleeding and that it triggers health problems from anemia to epilepsy in many women. They note women have been tinkering with nature since the advent of birth control pills and now endure as many as 450 periods, compared with 50 or so in the days when women spent most of their fertile years pregnant or breast-feeding.

I don’t know, when you get married and are trying to have a Baby..what are you waiting for? The lack of period! When that period doesn’t show up we’re either saying “oh Shit” or “Oh please”. But hey, at-least we have some kind of signal! Without it, we might be like a ship without a Light House. Continuing on the path having no idea there’s land up ahead.

Not to mention that 1% of women taking the pill get pregnant anyway. And that’s with taking the pill correctly. Everyday, same time.

So doctor’s are trying to reverse Eve’s Curse. If you are a God-fearing Woman or just one who simply believes, we realize we’re paying for Eve’s screw up. We’re reminded once a month of the forbidden apple; of temptation. Feminists are reminded that a woman stood up for what she wanted and the rest are pissed that she didn’t listen.

The conclusion, talk to your Doctor and find what’s best for you. That’s the beauty of having a Choice. But be weary, our period, though a pain in the bum, is a badge of Womanhood that should be celebrated. Remember ladies, the world woudn’t be here without you.

————–

Yes boys, the world wouldn’t be here without you either, but that’s not really the point of this post is it! 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Thanks bro! Real good work!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

