Bush Anonymous and the Battered Woman Syndrome


The other day, I came across Peggy Noonan’s editorial via opinionjournal.com.

It was titled:

Too Bad
President Bush has torn the conservative coalition asunder.

I took a deep breath and the little voice inside my head said…”Oh no, not Peggy!”.

And then I read.

As always, Peggy Noonan has a way with words beyond reproach.

Elegantly, like a Mother to her children, Peggy grounded me. She sent me to my room and told me when I wake up, I can come out.

I was hurt, pouty and stubborn as all hell. I snuck out of the room and decided I’d wake up later.

Two days later, still sneaking around, I caught a peak of Chris Wallace and Newt Gingrich on Sunday Fox News.

The first thing Chris Wallace said is , “Well, joining us now, someone who’s always interesting and often controversial. But these days, former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich is directing his fire not at Democrats but at problems within his own Republican Party.”

I took a deep breath and the little voice inside my head said, “Oh no, not Newt!”

And then I watched as Newt tore the Republican Party a new…..ahhhh…. well let’s just say a lot of ‘Pubs’ had some cushin’ on the tooshin’ after that interview.

Not to mention….Newt gave Peggy a shout out.

I felt lost, confused. Momma and Dadda Republican were going against the grain.

I went back to Peggy’s column.

This is where the little voice started to change it’s tune :

The White House doesn’t need its traditional supporters anymore, because its problems are way beyond being solved by the base. And the people in the administration don’t even much like the base. Desperate straits have left them liberated, and they are acting out their disdain. Leading Democrats often think their base is slightly mad but at least their heart is in the right place. This White House thinks its base is stupid and that its heart is in the wrong place.

For almost three years, arguably longer, conservative Bush supporters have felt like sufferers of battered wife syndrome. You don’t like endless gushing spending, the kind that assumes a high and unstoppable affluence will always exist, and the tax receipts will always flow in? Too bad! You don’t like expanding governmental authority and power? Too bad. You think the war was wrong or is wrong? Too bad.

Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh She’s RIGHT!

Listen, I love Bush. I love the cowboy attitude, the let’s kick ass attitude and yet…He’s messed up. I’ve acknowledged these mess-ups outloud but still defended him. And on a few things I still do, the Iraq War being number 1. As a Republican, I can also acknowledge that we were not prepared for Iraq and something’s gotta give. But Terrorism is a real thing and I’d rather it be over there then on U.S. Soil.

But then we have the Immigration issue which seems to be head to head with the Iraq War and what Americans are concerned with most.

A majority of Americans (48% via Rasmussen) do not apporve of the Immigration Bill. 26% aren’t sure, 26% favor it. WOW, that’s a big difference. But instead of the Governement listening to our cries….

via Peggy:

The president has taken to suggesting that opponents of his immigration bill are unpatriotic–they “don’t want to do what’s right for America.” His ally Sen. Lindsey Graham has said, “We’re gonna tell the bigots to shut up.” On Fox last weekend he vowed to “push back.” Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff suggested opponents would prefer illegal immigrants be killed; Commerce Secretary Carlos Gutierrez said those who oppose the bill want “mass deportation.” Former Bush speechwriter Michael Gerson said those who oppose the bill are “anti-immigrant” and suggested they suffer from “rage” and “national chauvinism.”

Excuse me? Unpatriotic? I have stood by this President thru thick and thin, but when over 60% do not like or are unsure of this Bill, we get a big fat slap in the face? I thought we voted you in Mr. President and you were voted in based on OUR views and what WE want and support, Not yours.

Newt Gingrich believes our Governement is Dysfunctional or not functioning at all. He is right, but it’s not just him, this whole Country is Dysfunctional. First we’re Martyr’s, then we’re Scrooge. I’m offended by this, you’re offended by that…let’s sue each other. Let’s change laws based on Minority views not Majority. 

How did we stray? Are we so offended by this governement that we’ve decided to go rogue on each other? I mean… really!

We have an election coming up. Some of the Lefties are Extreme to the point of ridiculous, as are some of the Republicans.

I need someone in the middle….we all do.

Some things just HAVE to be compromised. We need to acknowledge Terrorism and realize a little chat over tea won’t solve that problem. At the same time, we need to look at our diversity and celebrate it instead of pointing out all our faults. We all have them, get over it. We’ve become a bunch of pussy cats. “Oh, you called me fat, I’m taking you to court!”, “I’m not the best worker in the world but I should of got that promotion because I’m me and a woman, To Court!”, “Did I just hear the word ‘God’ come from that guys mouth, walking down the sidewalk minding his own business? I’m suing the city for allowing preaching on our sidewalks!”.

Get the BLANK over it.

The only way to get anything done is compromise…..dare I say, share? We were taught these values since the day we came into this world. We teach our children to take turns, listen to each other.  Do as I say, not as I do?

My fellow Republicans, it’s time we did a little bit of waking up. I am and will always be a Conservative, but it doesn’t mean I have to support every Republican in office. I back Bush on Terrorism, I’m not sure I back him on much else these days. I find myself turning the volume down when he speaks.

 I’ve said it many times but I will say it again..America is the Greatest Country in the World! But we make it that, no one else. You can’t preach Peace at your rally’s when you won’t shake the hand of your fellow neighbor nor can you be blind to the differences between Bible Times and 21st Century Times.

We all have some waking up to do. We’ve taken a beating for too long and it’s time for a 12 step Program.

The first step?

Hi, My name is CWonder, and I’m a Bushaholic.

2 Comments

  1. WOW – I think your quite right and brillant, as well.

  2. That was a very enjoyable read!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

