The Olympics, Our Flag, Our Anthem, Where’s the Love?


The Olympics. The greatest sports event on earth and we are only blessed with seeing our Champions every 4 years. When the Olympics are on, I never want them to end and when they are over, I’m sad I have to wait 2 more years to see another round of great Olympians.

I have not missed one aired event. Whether it’s DVR’d and I race through the commercials trying to watch it all before Prime Time starts, or I stay up into the pre-witching hour, depriving myself of much needed sleep…I am all eyes. I cheer as if I were there, I coach as if I know what I’m talking about and I encourage as if they could hear me. The greatest moment of all? Watching the time clock and seeing USA in the green. I yell, I scream, I chant “U.S.A.” as I run around my kitchen and back to the living room. Irena Cara sang it best…”What a feeling!” They win the Gold, Silver or Bronze and without realizing it, won the hearts of many Americans who feel like our little cheers helped them push it to the edge.

The last two days have been like Madrid’s Bull Run in our house. You won’t be hearing too many “Ole’s” but there is definitely lot’s of cheering, flag waving and downright maniacal romping. If my house weren’t so young, I’d be worried about its structure.

It started with watching Seth Wescott mouthing the National Anthem while bearing his Gold. He was smiling, our National Anthem sinking in to his victory.  He deserved it, his Snowboard Cross was awesome. I love watching them win, but I love hearing our National Anthem just as much. Whether they sing, carry their hand over their heart or just stare at the flag, eyes glistening with tears, pride and the reality of what they have accomplished; It’s amazing.   Lindsay Vonn teared up which made anyone watching at least think about tearing up. Then there was the Infamous Shaun White. Just saying his name takes my breath away. He is, the MASTER of the Halfpipe. If anyone walked by the house two nights ago, they might have thought about calling the police because the Roars were in waves! I can’t say it any better than the commentator did that night…..as Shaun ends his final run with his Spiraling Double McTwist 1260, the commentator squeals…”There it issssssssss”. First, freaking hilarious how excited everyone was, but second, he proved he didn’t just win Gold, he is Gold. And so last night we watch him accept his medal, showing off his pearly whites, he’s so excited he begins air-guitaring to our Anthem and at the end…an air-drum solo. So Cute.

My point?  Shani Davis,  who won his consecutive gold medal in the 1000m speed skating event. It was fast, it had me on the edge of my seat and when he passed the finish line…I had my hands in the air doing a one-woman wave. So last night I’m excited to watch his Medal Ceremony only to be disappointed and left questioning what it is I just watched.  I wrote it off, for I was about to watch Evan be the first reigning World Champion of Figure skating bring home a gold since Scott Hamilton.

This morning I call my mom to discuss and make sure we each had watched the Olympics last night. One of us will ask if we watched and the other will answer, Of Course I did”. I find conversations like this funny because we both know we wouldn’t miss this for the world! Nevertheless, mom says to me, “I want to talk to you about something because I think you need to write about it.” As soon as she said this…that small little memory that I thought I had repressed  started swimming back down into my conscience and I knew exactly what she was going to say. “Did you see Shani Davis last night? What the hell is a matter with him?” Ahhh mom,  mom, mom…I was having such good thoughts of our wins and I thought it was just me being absurd…but no, this proves it! I wasn’t the only one who felt that Shani Davis looked very uninterested in our Anthem. In fact, he didn’t look at his flag once. No hand over the heart, no mouthing the words, nothing, nada, zilch! So I have to ask myself, What the Eff Shani? You have accomplished great things in a Country that isn’t always so great but is definitely the best place in the world…Where’s the love?  Strange is the only word that comes to mind. I don’t get it, I didn’t get it and I thought to myself last night, “Maybe he’s just caught up in the moment? But this ain’t his first rodeo. He’s won before…. I know he lost a close friend recently and maybe he was saying a little prayer or talking to him; that’s what I want to think but I’m just not so sure. If you recall, when our Anthem had ended, he looked around and then seemed confused about whether to get down or where to go. He just seemed, detached?

Sigh. Well, I will not let it take away my own momentum. I’m on a USA high right now and am so very proud to be in a land that strives for such dedication. By the way, signed my son up for swim lessons. His name is Elias and he’s 5. In 11 years, he will be the next Michael Phelps and he will have his hand on his heart when he wins all his Gold Medals…otherwise Mama will spank him in front of the whole world.

 

GO USA.

3 Comments

  1. I loved this post!

    I understand where this is coming from, although I am Canadian and wasn’t completely focussed on ‘Shani Davis’!

    When I watched Freestyle Skiing Moguls Event on February 14th and watched Dale Begg-Smith of Australia with Silver and NOT SMILE ONCE! I was shocked.

    If I was talented enough to even GO TO the Olympics I wouldn’t be able to stop smiling and shouting my National Anthem.(Even though the world isn’t too happy about Canada’s new sense of National Pride)

    Thank you!

    • LOL, I couldn’t agree more! Don’t you worry about what the world thinks..as you may know we deal with that alot. Hate to be harsh, but screw em’…no one truly cares about you but You..so I say scream away!!! GO USA……and Canada 😉

  2. The Unofficial Revised Cananthem

    O Canada! Our Home and cherished land!
    True patriot love in all us thou command.

    With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
    The True North strong and free!

    From far and wide, O Canada,
    we stand on guard for thee.
    Nous gardons notre terre glorieuse et libre!

    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee;
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

